Spring Art project – Dresses and Dancing

FalmingoDresses_001

Alongside this terms game production assignment is again an art project. I have picked the 3D character route and for my assignment I want to try to tackle characters in dresses(or other difficult fabric configurations) in motion. Specifically I want to try to rig a dress to be vibrant during dancing motions in contrast to the rather stilted motion I tend to see when dresses turn up in video games.

Obs_Sketches_001_contrast.jpg

With dress emphasized movement being my starting point I have started to look up different dance styles that incorporate dresses and have done some sketch observations to look at how the dresses move to try and determine what I should go for in my characters design and how I may consider rigging it. Above are some of these initial observations.

NOTE: While a old sketch this observation of a ballerina dance shows what I hope to expand the above sketches to once I have gotten further in my research.

ballerina_movment_study_by_hatgremlin-d7n7rwm

Spring Art project – Dresses and Dancing

Leave a Reply

