Tail – Semester 1 Retrospective

In this assignment we had show followthrough motion in our animation. For this we were told to focus on the tail animation of a creature like a squirrel.

SqurrielloopSmooth

For this I decided to whip up a quick 3D model and rig in Blender(the open-source 3D software) rather than doing another 2D animation. Stylistically I wanted to practice the look I did for a previous project “You’re Just A Little Rat” from last year that I knew I could produce in the time and would give it a interesting look.

SqurrielRigDoc

For the motion I, as I tend to do for animal animations, looked for slowed down footage of a squirrel in motion and did some diagrams of it’s key poses(shown bellow).

Squrril plan

Tail – Semester 1 Retrospective

Leave a Reply

