2D PLATFORMER – LEVEL 2 VIDEO 3, RIDGEBODY BASED MOVEMENT – 29/11/14

Continuing on from the buoyancy and shrinking mechanics I decided to look into some different ways I could apply player movement in the script that would allow my player object to be a ridgebody and thus, able to interact with other physical objects.

The two options I looked at the most were the addForce method and ridgebody.Velocity. While addForce was the best for experiencing all the effects of being a ridgebody object that also made inputing movement difficult and inconsistent, to many forces were acting on it to get a reliable result. On the other hand ridgebody.Velocity movement was very similar to my last set up, however on the downside it lost some of the more in depth benefits of being a ridgebody object.

I went with the ridgebody.Velocity in the end, seeing that all I really wanted at this point was to be able to push other objects and it allowed me the same control of movement it worked will for what I wanted. Along with that I also added some basic animations and sounds, including a little loop I did on FL studio, let us hope the path of musicing leads somewhere for me.

Sounds:

http://www.freesound.org/people/Ch0cchi/sounds/15292/

http://soundbible.com/1460-Water-Splash.html

2D PLATFORMER – LEVEL 2 VIDEO 3, RIDGEBODY BASED MOVEMENT – 29/11/14

Leave a Reply

