2D Platformer – Level 1 Video 2, Shrinking and Buoyancy Mechanic – 23/11/14

So over the last 2 to 3 days I have been working on the programming students first assignment the 2D platformer level in order to catch up with them so I can learn it along with my main subject.

To add something to my attempt I have developed two extra mechanics for my game, the shrinking and buoyancy mechanics, both of which are demonstrated here in the first level.

Buoyancy – Depending on how high you fall from you will sink lower into the water before rising up, along with that you can also give yourself a slight boost up with the jump button.

Shrinking and Health – Walking on the orange blocks will decrease your health but that will also make you smaller so you can fit into certain gaps. Vice-versa swimming in water will regain your health and make you bigger again.

When I have time I would like to make a second level that forces the player have to play around avoiding and finding areas to change their size, if I have even more time I would like to add a weight mechanic where along with you changing size you will also become heavier and lighter allowing you to push certain objects or buttons which would give the full sized version of the player some pros over the smaller one.

I could even maybe look into moving the water in the level but thats probably a bit down the line for me yet.

2D Platformer – Level 1 Video 2, Shrinking and Buoyancy Mechanic – 23/11/14

Leave a Reply

