Programming 2D Platformer – Bouncing On Water Mechanic

Looking through the scripting modules I was wondering if I could try experimenting a bit with the 2D platformer assignment. At first I though I could try experimenting with design by changing the player jump to a constant bounce, however that didn’t seem challenging enough programming wise.

So instead I thought I should see if I could program a water mechanic where you can fall into water, sink to a certain level depending on how high you jumped from and then float to the surface… Ok that may not sound complicated but trust me it was enough to hurt my brain for a good while.

Anyway took me two nights of experimenting but finally got my head warped around it so that now when on land, holding space will make you bounce but, when you fall into water it will now act as a boost up only when you press it down. All thats left is to clean up the scripting and I can get going.

Programming 2D Platformer – Bouncing On Water Mechanic

Leave a Reply

